Uganda ready for  Birmingham Commonwealth Games

By Kenneth Arereng.

Ugandan athletes are ready to reap medals at the forthcoming 18th  dition of the Commonwealth Games that takes place July 28 to August 8, 2022 in Birmingham, United Kingdom.

 President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni officially flagged off the national teams on July 11, 2022 at Kololo Independence Ceremonial grounds and stressed the value for sports ranging from fitness, character building, entertainment  and publicity for the country.

He advised athletes to exhibit high degree of discipline,  desist from sexual immorality, ills of drinking alcohol and to be good ambassadors of the country and indeed  real role models,

“Sports is one of the avenues in which country’s image if promoted to the rest of the world.  Represent Uganda with  honour and once you have the talent, do not fear but just exploit your talent to greater heights,” he said.

Education and Sports Minister Hon, also First Lady Hon. Janet Kataha Museveni advised athletes to hoist the country’s flag high and to exhibit a high degree of discipline and  patriotism.

“ Hoist our flag high  and exhibit discipline and patriotism at all times during the games,” She said.

Uganda Olympic Committee (UOC) President Dr Donald Rukare  said  the country has untapped talented youths  and added that they would be value for sports if more sports facilities were set up with steady government funding.

The Ugandan teams comprises of swimmers, Para – swimming, Cycling, Squash, Badminton, Wrestling, Weightlifting, Table tennis, Boxing, Athletics, Rugby Sevens, Netball.

Technical Team:

Prossy Namusisi, Kisolo Muwanga, Shadiah Nakamanya, Sarah Chelangat, Shakira Mutesi, Arthur Nuwagaba, John Ssentamu

Commonwealth Games Association Uganda

Executive Committee: Donald Rukare, Moses Benon Mwase, Dunstan Nsubuga, Beatrice Ayikoru, Annie Mungoma, Lydia Gloria Dhamuzungu, Ganzi Mugula, Abdul Nasser Sserunjoji, Sadik Nasiwu, Aisha Kagere, and Godwin Kayangwe.

The big names in the  Ugandan team is the 10,000 metres Tokyo 2020 Olympics champion  SSP Joshua Cheptegei, Tokyo 2020 Olympics 3,000 metres women Steeplechase champion Peruth Chemtai and bronze winner Jacob Kiplimo ■

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *